SPORTS MAY 2, 2018 : KILJ Radio


SPORTS MAY 2, 2018 : KILJ Radio

Written by John Kuhens on May 2, 2018

MPHS boy’s golf crew was very busy Tuesday.  They performed 18 holes within the Burlington Notre Dame Tournament at Flint Hills  to start out the day after which performed 9 holes of Southeast Conference Golf at Keokuk after that.

In the Notre Dame match Central Lee gained the crew title with a 318 rating and Mt. Pleasant tied for fourth with Van Buren as they each shot 344.  Winfield Mt. Union completed 2nd taking pictures 333, and Kaleb Hagge of the Wolves was medalist taking pictures 73.  Mt. Pleasant scores had been:  Trace White 82, Jake Moffett 83, Rhett Zeglen 87, Bailey Shelledy 92.

In their twin at Keokuk MPHS was victorious 159-215.  Jake Moffett shot a 34, Trace White had a 40, Bailey Shelledy shot 41, Rhett Zeglen and Austin Buckert had 44 scores, and Brevin Wilson 45.

Mt. Pleasant defeated Keokuk in Southeast Conference Tennis 6-Three on the Chiefs house courtroom.  Panther singles winners:  Jaxon Hoyle, Elijah Plooster, Jack Schimmelpfinnig and Donny Arledge. Double winners:  Ethan Weber and Jack Schimmelpfinig, Elijah Plooster and Donny Arledge.

Burlington defeated the MPHS boy’s soccer crew 2-1 final night time.  Paris Chounlamany scored the Panther purpose.  M.P. gained the JV match 2-Zero.

The seventh grade lady’s observe ran at Fort Madison Tuesday May 1st.  Individual outcomes are as follows:

1st Place:

800 meter run – Audrey Lord – 2:57.31

1500 meter run – Audrey Lord- 5:52.68

Discus – Kylee Coleman – 72-10

2nd Place:

100 Meter Hurdles – Andrea Lopreato – 20.02

Shuttle Hurdle Relay – (Tristan Shull, Jayden Housh, Mica Carter, Andrea Lopreato) 1:23.59

third Place:

four×100 Meter Relay – ( Tristan Shull, Andrea Lopreato, Mica Carter, Makenzie Musselman) 1:01.66

four×400 Meter Relay – (Kali Barnett, Andrea Barrios, Chloe Ward, Izabelle Yoder) 5:20.87

four×800 Meter Relay – (Izabelle Yoder, Eva Rounceville, Maleena Sylavong, Isabelle Meador)  13:12.77

Iowa Wesleyan University held the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 27, to acknowledge the accomplishments of previous and current members of Tiger Athletics.  Nearly 350 individuals gathered in Ruble Arena as IW inducted three new members into the 2018 Hall of Fame Class. Student-athletes had been honored for his or her achievements within the classroom and of their fields of competitors.

“The Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony inducted three new members into the Wesleyan Hall of Fame.

Charles “Chuck” Harnisch class of 1957, Heather Bell Davis class of 1997, and Mark T. Willis class of 1970.

Student-Athlete Awards returned to the ceremony this yr with Male and Female Scholar Athlete of the Year, Male and Female Athlete of the Year, and the Tiger Service Award.

Christian Henriksen was named Male Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Sheridan Gealow was named Female Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Grace Alongi acquired Female Athlete of the Year.

Brock Butler took house the Male Athlete of the Year Award.

Allegra Collette acquired the Tiger Service Award.

Darby Massner was acknowledged for her CoSIDA Academic All-America honors.

Josie Zerrusen was named the recipient of the Lori Williams Wright Award.  The award is offered to a senior ladies’s basketball participant who displays extraordinary management skill, tutorial success, and athletic skill.


Bud Legg has been serving Iowa college students for greater than 50 years as a instructor, counselor, coach, faculty administrator, game official, and at last, because the IHSAA Information Director since 2001. He has introduced his retirement from the Athletic Association will come on the finish of June.

Legg got here to the IHSAA after 35 years in public schooling, together with 9 years as an Associate Principal and Activities Director at Ames High School.

In his time with the IHSAA, Legg’s duties included intensive compiling of historic info; researching and updating state meet info; historic booklets; formulating All-Time Best Lists and state information in every sport administered by the Athletic Association. He recurrently points press releases to the state’s media shops and writes a number of articles for the IHSAA Bulletin




The Mt. Pleasant USBC Association will conduct its annual Spring Membership Meeting Thursday May Three on the Splitz Lounge, Iris Bowling Center.  The meal begins at 6:00pm with assembly beginning at 6:30.  Bring a lined dish to share.  The enterprise assembly will comply with with studies from every League and State Conventions attended by delegates.  Election can be held for President, 1st Vice President, and three Directors.  Following the assembly Tournament trophies for first place winners can be offered and yearly recognitions can even be made.


The Iowa High School Athletic Association’s 2019 state twin crew wrestling match will function brackets in-built a brand new method, and larger modifications could possibly be on the best way for the standard match.  In Monday’s Board of Control assembly at IHSAA places of work in Boone, a wrestling advisory committee advice to permit coaches of state qualifying groups to seed the twin crew match was unanimously accepted. Similar pretournament rating programs have been accepted and utilized in baseball and basketball.

The bigger potential change is a advice from the advisory committee to seed the highest eight wrestlers in every weight class for the state conventional match utilizing TrackWrestling’s on-line method. An identical advice was positioned earlier than the Board of Control in 2017 with much less advisory committee help, however the annual committee assembly earlier this month produced a unified proposal to seed wrestlers No. 1 to No. eight in every 16-person bracket, then use a random draw to put the remaining eight wrestlers.   The Board determined to desk the advice till June’s assembly to permit for additional dialogue and analysis on the seeding course of. Approximately 30 states use TrackWrestling to supply state match seeding. The IHSAA’s present state match bracketing makes use of a random draw that pairs district champions with district runners-up.

SPORTS MAY 2, 2018 : KILJ Radio

Publish Date: 2018-05-02 13:07:54

Source hyperlink



    Leave a Comment


    Welcome! Login in to your account

    Remember me Lost your password?

    Lost Password